#CPD23 Thing 12: Battle of the Network Stars

K.C.: Seven different people spammed me the same link.
KC’s Friend: What is it?
K.C.: I don’t know, but I’m really hoping it’s cats that look like Hitler, because I can never get enough of that.

–The Social Network (2010)

I’ve written about my love for social networking before, and despite some recent signs of fatigue (not surprising, as I’m an early adopter). Face it. I’m a middle-aged widow-woman living in the back of beyond, telecommuting to a solo  librarian job. Where else am I going to meet like-minded people?

But the problem with being so isolated and using social networks to compensate is finding people from whom I want to learn. I’m not worried about the age/experience disparity as some are. I fully accept that I’m likely to be older than any other librarian in my social groups. (The stereotype of the technologically clueless middle-aged librarian seems to be truer than I would have thought based on my own experience.) I fully accept that I will know more than most in my own field of LIS and much less than most in the things I’m just starting to learn. I fully accept that listening to people who know more than I do, whether they are younger or older, more or less experienced, will be to my benefit.

But how to find them? I’m starting to think about the courses I hope to take next year and what electives I will want, and I’d love to get more knowledge about instructional design, cataloging, and non-textual literacies. I’ve found a cataloger or two to follow on Twitter, but beyond that? I don’t see any listings for the fields I’m interested in on the CPD 23 delicious list, but those fields may be hiding behind other names.

Anybody in the know willing to hook a sister up?

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “#CPD23 Thing 12: Battle of the Network Stars”

  1. Katharine Says:

    Just in case you havent already seen this: http://highvisibilitycataloguing.wordpress.com might be of interest to you?

  2. Katharine Says:

    Oh – and I just spotted this too: http://highvisibilitycataloguing.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/hvcats-on-twitter/ any good?

  3. Ahava Cohen Says:

    Thank you! Put the blog on my RSS feeds and followed the Twitter list. Really appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

