CPD23 Thing 4: A push too far

Thing 4 should be a walk in the park, right? I tweet (endlessly, some would say; according to Tweetdeck I average 1.8 tweets a day, and I have 25 hours a week of Sabbath, so no tweets then). I’ve been doing RSS since the knit bloggers were all nuts about Random Acts of Kindness blogrings (I think that was the dark ages of 2005). So not much I would learn or talk about, amirite?

But then there was Pushnote. Well, what can be said of Pushnote that hasn’t been said of New Coke? I played around with it for a few hours, and that’s a few hours of my life I’ll never get back. This may be a good idea, but it’s not ready for prime time.

creative commons photo by Sarah Korf

And for once I’m not just talking out my hat. One of the things I do at work is looking at start-up offerings and seeing if it’s something we should invest in. My proudest accomplishment to date was turning down an ostrich egg sized personal media player which had to be loaded and recharged with the entire family’s PMPs. 3 months after I turned it down the iPod came out; the huge PMP would never have made any sales. And Pushnote? I would have said it’s not developed enough to go out in the wild. No way to edit posts. No way to check your stats. No way to segment the notes aside from friends/neighbors/everyone (keywords, guys?) I wonder if Pushnote would have gotten off the ground in this state if it didn’t have Stephen Fry’s name attached to it and have to wonder why CPD23 and CAM 23 are devoting time to it.

Does anyone see value in Pushnote as it currently is that I’m not seeing?

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

